New Music: Kiby – “Can We Be Friends?”

New Music: Kiby – “Can We Be Friends?”

0 149

As her new EP “Sis, He Wasn’t the One”  is set to be released next week, Kirby shares her new single Can We Be Friends? I think lately I’ve been having a hard time letting go. Because of the pandemic, my relationships feel less disposable to me. I recently fell into a situation that’s teaching me that every love story isn’t a forever story. And though I feel the relationship ending, a part of me wants to still hold on to the person. I can’t help but ask myself if I can do this one differently, that maybe my next ex isn’t my ex at all. We’re more than that; we’re friends. I guess we’ll see how that goes on the next album…”

This new single follows the exhilarating, elastic funk of “Coconut Oil” and the anthemic, retro R&B of “Boyz II Men”,  and further showcases the breadth and scope across the 10 tracks on the “Sis, He Wasn’t the One” EP, which also features a collaboration with BJ The Chicago Kid.



he “Sis, He Wasn’t the One” EP is just the latest step in KIRBY’s ever-expanding catalogue, and her newest foray into showing listeners her original sound as the “granddaughter of soul.”  With a coveted support slot on the John Legend’s forthcoming US tour this autumn (live dates here) expect to hear much more in the coming months.

Sis, He Wasn’t The One” EP tracklist

1) Love Song
2) Leon Pt. 2
3) Break Her Heart For Me
4) Coconut Oil
5) Boyz II Men
6) Lately ft. BJ The Chicago Kid
7) Wish I Loved
8) Blame The Internet
9) First
10) Can We Be Friends?


Leave a Reply