Janelle Monae

0 319

Janelle Monáe has released two new songs along with visuals for her new singles ‘Make Me Feel’ and ‘Django Jane’ from her forthcoming album Dirty Computer, due April 27.

‘Make Me Feel’ was directed by Alan Ferguson and is inspired by Prince, while ‘Djano Jane’ shows a different side to Janelle. The Andrew Donoho video features striking visuals, including one moment when Monáe’s face appears on a woman’s lap as she raps, “Let the vagina have a monologue.”

Janelle spoke on her upcoming album saying, “I actually had this title on this concept before my first album The ArchAndroid, and it scared me because a lot of the things that I knew that I needed to say were very deep, very personal, from the heart, you know, this is an extremely vulnerable album and it took me a while to make it because I’m a self editor.”

0 329


This past weekend me and one of my best friends Wyatt got the chance to watch the film “Hidden Figures” which is a story about Katherine G. Johnson, Dorothy Vaughan and Mary Jackson – three African-American women whose contributions to the US space programme are celebrated now, not overlooked anymore.

0 833


Janelle Monáe and her Wondaland crew  including Deep Cotton, St. Beauty, Jidenna, Roman GianArthur, George 2.0 are doing their part to prove that black lives matter with their new powerful song titled “Hell You Talmbout.”

Janelle Monáe and the Wondaland crew performed the single live last night in Philadelphia during their The Eephus” which kicked off last night Wondaland will release its six-track EP Wondaland Presents: The Eephus on Friday, while “The Eephus” tour runs through Aug. 31.

0 2174

Janelle-Monae-Yoga-VideoJust a short few weeks after releasing her new song “Yoga” featuring her new artist Jidenna, singer/songwriter Janelle Monae has unleashed the official video for the new single which will be included on her compilation album Wondaland Presents: The Eephus. Check out the new single below.

0 686


Not long after announcing her new Wondaland Records imprint and introducing the first artist Jidenna to the world, singer Janelle Moane has another surprise under her belt when she released this new song titled “Yoga.” This new song will be included on  the forthcoming compilation EP, ‘Wondaland Presents THE EEPHUS,’ due out this summer via Wondaland/Epic.

0 1388

janelle-monae-2015-marc-baptiste-billboard-650Wondaland Records, a new movement and recording label created by award-winning global superstar and visionary Janelle Monáe, has teamed with Epic Records, a division of Sony Music Entertainment, to announce the launch of a landmark joint venture partnership. Featuring an electrifying roster of artists Jidenna, Roman GianArthur, Deep Cotton, and St. Beauty the news of this partnership signals a seismic shift in music and culture that will be felt for years to come.

“I’m so thrilled to share Wondaland Records with the world. Each artist under Wondaland Records has unparalleled talent, incredible vision, and brings something unique to the music industry,” said Janelle Monáe. “Together, we’re creating a new movement and space for the future of music and pop culture. I’m honored to be partnering with Epic Records and my friend LA Reid to present such extraordinary talent.”

Wondaland Records is launching with the release of its dynamic first single, “Classic Man” by Jidenna featuring Roman GianArthur, available now; the song will be impacting radio and the world at large February 16th. “Classic Man,” will serve as the lead track on the Wondaland Records compilation arriving in May. The compilation will also contain the new single “Yoga” by Janelle Monáe featuring Jidenna.

0 463

Janelle Monae took us back to college as she  sports a new look in her new video for “Electric Lady” the latest track off her sophomore album The Electric Lady. The Electro Phi Betas throw a big  sorority house party as they enjoy  doing the electric slide, the new video also has a few cameos from T.I., T-Boz, Estelle, Esperanza Spalding, Monica, Kimbra, and even Janelle’s mother.

0 480

Grammy-nominated artist, Janelle Monae, and Pepsi have partnered to celebrate music and football by recreating David Bowie’s iconic “Heroes.” Janelle brings her unique sound to the classic, which is available now on iTunes.

“I love everything the film stands for. To me, it is all about that extraordinary burst of courage and passion which can embolden everyday people in a moment of spontaneity, which is also the message of David Bowie’s venerable song,” said Monáe. “I was honored to join Pepsi for this campaign and remind people that now more than ever, we can all be heroes.”

0 479

Not only is Janelle Monae lending her voice to the sequel to Rio the singer is also contributing her talents for the movie soundtrack for the first single titled “What Is Love.”The soundtrack will be available on March 25th and the film in theaters on April 11th. Check out the upbeat tune below.

0 398

Last night, Janelle Monáe gave a live concert as part of VH1’s Super Bowl Blitz, the singer performed brand new songs from her album “The Electric Lady” including her Miguel assisted single Primetime and Queen. Check out the full show here and watch Janelle perform PrimeTime  & Electric Lady  below.